bulkstill.blogg.se

Npr best reads 2017 ann patchett interview
Npr best reads 2017 ann patchett interview









npr best reads 2017 ann patchett interview

Before her novel “Flights,” the Polish writer was little known in the U.S. Not newly written this year, but newly available in English. “Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead” by Olga Tokarczuk My tastes, therefore, are on the record and out there by the basketful (or maybe the binful, since I receive about a postal bin of books every day).īut, as the year draws to a close, if you want more recommendations for your own groaning bookshelves, my colleagues and I suggest adding these 29 books to your reading list, starting with three novels that stood out for me this year. I am not a critic, and I’m not telling you these are the “best.” I am a reporter who happens to love reading, eager to find out more and pass on what I learn. These are books and writers that interest me and are, we believe, worthy of your attention. (Our bookshelves groan.) And then there is what feels like a bigger way to be an advocate: through the interviews and author profiles at the PBS NewsHour and through our “Now Read This” book club. In small ways: I travel a lot, seek out independent bookstores and buy a book, even if I’m not going to read it right away.

npr best reads 2017 ann patchett interview

I am an advocate for books, reading, literature and literacy. “Conversations With Friends” by Sally Rooney.“The Woman Warrior” by Maxine Hong Kingston.“The House of Broken Angels” by Luis Urrea.If you didn’t follow along with the the PBS NewsHour-New York Times book club Now Read This in 2019, here are 12 more suggestions to add to your list.











Npr best reads 2017 ann patchett interview